Valentines craze

By Christine Chacha
One of the things that am thankful for this year is the fact that Valentine’s day fall on a Sunday. Not everyone spends their Valentine’s Day drinking red wine, enjoying the fragrance of roses or getting passionate embraces and opening heartfelt gifts. Despite the fact that I love valentines and it’s a woman’s festival, it can be very depressing when you have no one to pamper you and make you feel special. 

I knew an office where valentines were such a big deal; flowers were delivered in the office, chocolates and all. The pressure to indulge in the lovers day was so much especially on the singles in the office; Some went as far as sending themselves flowers and had them delivered to the office so they don’t feel left out. The singles were always busy looking for dates for valentines. It became so bad that the management decided to start sending roses to every female on valentines.
Well such are the down side of Valentine’s.If you are alone without a lover or relationships you might find it a hard day to get through. It  will drive you to the brink of insanity forcing you to find just any date so you not alone, pressure you to admit your love or give in to people who use the day as an excuse to have sex (hey don't get mad, such people, sadly, do exist).
Thankfully tomorrow you can relax at home and not worry about receiving flowers, a bottle of wine or some chocolates. I do not mean to hate but really it’s just that the hype of the day is just too much on a woman. It’s the time that you get to hear women gloat as they tell of what they received, what they did or what their men did for them. Makes you want to gag just listening to them .But women are natural haters, knowing that you are wallowing in jealousy is all the push they need to start telling of their valentine escapades.
Valentine’s day has been turned into a singles alert day, this is the day that makes you realize that you have no one, being lonely at this time is inevitable;Everyone is busy expressing their feelings of love through sentimental gifts and gestures. But what those of us who are not in a relationship?  Show me a woman bitching about Valentine's Day and I will show you a single woman who wishes she had someone.  Feelings of loneliness and self-doubt are unavoidable.


Seriously do we really need a day dedicated to expressing love? Maybe we do but maybe we don’t. Valentine's Day is a day where you get to express your love but why cant people do this every other day? On the other hand, some women really need this day because it is the only time that their men who are not always romantic are compelled by society to pamper them and be romantic. 
  
Seriously February 14 strikes fear into the hearts of many out . This celebration of love is something that a lot of people-read single- hate. It lacks sincerity, it's commercialised and some might say it is childish. This may sound like the ranting of the single and bitter, but it is the truth.
For those with significant others, the pressure to do something meaningful and creative can hurt the relationship if not handled correctly. The fear of not receiving the right gift, spending enough can keep you up all night. The point is the day coerces you to have someone, do something for them and expect something in return.

What is a single person to do? Should Valentine’s Day be reserved for the  cupid-struck only? To ease the pressure picture Valentine’s day as a made-up corporate holiday where people waste their time and money  buying gifts, planning get aways  and the likes so be grateful you are single and can save up some cash .Next time it might be you telling all the stories.
Anyway, I'm excited for the day because to me it holds some special significance. The aim on Valentine's Day is to do something that is fun and is a great distraction from all the chaos going on around .I hope you all have a Happy Valentine's Day as well... atleast try to.


chaxtine@yahoo.com

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Can men and women be just friends without complications?

Great people

marriage=boring